Please be informed that the IPA offices will be closed Friday 4th August.
We will respond to you as soon as we return on Monday 7th August.

IPA awards 8 Fellowships

The IPA awarded six Fellowships and two Honorary Fellowships to individuals who have made an outstanding and sustained contribution to the marketing communications industry at its Members’ Lunch on 23rd April 2008.


At its Members’ Lunch (23rd April 2008), the IPA awarded six Fellowships and two Honorary Fellowships to individuals who have made an outstanding and sustained contribution to the marketing communications industry.

The six Fellows, who are drawn from IPA member agencies, are:
Wayne Arnold (European Chief Executive, Profero; MIPA)
Richard Hytner (Worldwide Deputy Chairman, Saatchi & Saatchi; MIPA)
Guy Murphy (Worldwide Planning Director,  JWT)
Tony Regan (Head of Planning, Initiative)
Daren Rubins (Managing Director, PHD Media)
Stephen Whyte (formerly CEO, McCann Erickson; MIPA)

The two Honorary Fellows are:
Ann Murray Chatterton (Director of Professional Development, IPA)
Roddy Glen (Freelance Researcher)

The individual citations for Fellowships and Honorary Fellowships are:

Wayne Arnold (European Chief Executive, Profero; MIPA)
Wayne has dedicated a large amount of time to the IPA, not only via his Chairman-ship of IPA Digital but also through his positions on the Membership Committee and Council. Wayne has taken an active, leading role in a wide range of initiatives (including the online media owner survey, creative–file-size project, campaign deliveries and recommendations for trading with online ad networks) and is always willing to provide an informed perspective on digital when required.

Richard Hytner (Worldwide Deputy Chairman, Saatchi & Saatchi; MIPA) Richard chaired the Excellence in CPD Awards in 2004 and has made a significant contribution towards establishing them as a benchmark for agencies' people development achievements. He has also been involved with the IPA Excellence Diploma since its inception in 2005, as module editor and examiner on the Brands and Leadership module. Richard has also contributed to, and spoken at, numerous IPA courses.

Guy Murphy (Worldwide Planning Director,  JWT)
Guy joined the IPA Strategy Group in May 2003 and became Vice-Chairman in December 2004. He took over as Chairman in January 2007. He has been particularly involved in two initiatives: the setting up of a sponsorship deal with Times Media in 2006 for a series of conferences and debates, and the development (as lead author) of the joint industry best practice guide, Communication Strategy, which was launched in 2007.

Tony Regan (Head of Planning,  Initiative)
Tony has been extremely supportive of the IPA over the years. Most recently he was module editor on the IPA Excellence Diploma for two intakes over three years, which involved presentations, delegate support, module marking and final assignment examination. He has also spoken on numerous IPA courses over the last ten years, including the IPA Integrated Planning course and IPA Stage 2. Tony won a Silver IPA Effectiveness Award in 2002.
Daren Rubins (Managing Director, PHD Media)
Daren joined the Professional Development Group in September 2005 representing media interests in training provision. He has been a driving force behind the latest in the three-tier CPD professional qualifications programme with the development of the Advanced Certificate. He is also author of the first module on 'The Media Business Context' and has helped review the complete programme. Previously, Daren has been active as a review editor of the media sections within the popular IPA Foundation Certificate.

Stephen Whyte (formerly CEO, McCann Erickson; MIPA)
Stephen has played a significant role in IPA affairs in recent years. Elected onto Council, first in 2001, then again in 2004. Stephen has been an active and much valued contributor and became Honorary Secretary in April 2007. He has also been involved with the Membership Committee twice: initially in 2001/2002, and then for a second time from 2005 – April 2008. As Chairman of the Committee from April 2007, he oversaw a thorough reappraisal of the application and vetting processes for corporate membership, and led the discussions about the future of personal membership and the question of the IPA applying for Chartered status.

Ann Murray Chatterton (Director of Professional Development, IPA)
Ann joined the IPA in 1999 after 25 years spent on the agency side. Under her leadership, the Professional Development department has grown significantly and now offers a full training and development programme. Ann introduced the popular Friday morning energizer courses in 2002 to complement the 7 Stages career development programme, and the IPA now runs over 100 specially designed training courses each year. These courses are underpinned by the Continuous Professional Development (CPD) accreditation standard, which was introduced in 2000 and is now mandatory for all agency members. The biennial ‘Excellence in CPD Awards’ scheme was launched in 2002. Another significant development over recent years has been the launch of a suite of qualifications, including the Foundation Certificate, Advanced Certificate, LegRegs Certificate and Excellence Diploma, to complement a growing portfolio of crafts skills qualifications.

Roddy Glen (Freelance Researcher)
Roddy has been an outstanding contributor to the IPA Stage 2 Campaign Planning Course for 25 years now, a course which in the last seven years has taken place twice a year. He has donated an enormous amount of time and expertise to the course over these years, and has become the authority on qualitative research for the dele-gates. He also donated his research skills to an IPA review of senior management requirements for MBA style education as part of the IPA's wider qualifications planning review.

Last updated 17/03/2011

Contact the IPA

ABCe audit Offical Webby Awards Honoree (2011, 2013)

Website, membership and content management software by Senior
Creative design by Igentics

Institute of Practitioners in Advertising (IPA)
© 2018 IPA. All rights reserved. No part of this
site may be reproduced without our permission.