Please be informed that the IPA offices will be closed Friday 4th August.
We will respond to you as soon as we return on Monday 7th August.

IPA's Janet Hull receives OBE

Janet Hull, the IPA’s Director of Marketing, has been awarded an OBE in the Queen’s 2014 New Year Honours for her services to the Creative Industries. She received her honour at Buckingham Palace on 12th February 2014.


The prestigious award recognises Janet’s considerable contribution to programmes and partnerships which position the UK as a creative and digital innovation hub to the world to which she brings her significant experience of corporate leadership, business development, strategy and relationship management.

Janet invented and runs the IPA/Metro Creative Pioneers Challenge to provide apprenticeship opportunities for young people in the high growth digital creative economy; and is tireless in her work with the National Apprenticeship Service, Creative Skillset, UKTI and Tech City to create the right infrastructure for sustainable long term success.

On behalf of the Government's Creative Industries Council, she is also IPA project director on the redevelopment of the UK Creative Industries web portal, in partnership with cross-sector trade associations and representative bodies, to enhance opportunities for UK export and inward investment.

At the IPA Janet is responsible for strategy, content and promotion of its external marketing programmes. She has a lead role in the IPA President's agenda, the Creative Pioneers Challenge and the Future of Talent strategy, as well as the IPA Effectiveness Awards Databank initiative.

In addition, and in her first non-executive position, she advises independent body, the Quality Assurance Agency, on business and marketing strategy, and represents the employer and consumer voice in Board discussions. She is also an adviser and visiting lecturer to France Business School, on the Double Masters in International Marketing Communications.

Says Paul Bainsfair, IPA Director General: “This award is the ultimate acknowledgement of Janet’s indefatigable work for the creative industries. She is a passionate advocate of this sector and an asset to it and we are incredibly proud of her.”

Further luminaries to receive New Year Honours for their services to advertising, media, and/or the creative industries include:


Dr Mary Colette Bowe. Chair, Ofcom. For services to Media and Communications


Ms Rita Ann Clifton. For services to the Advertising Industry.

Richard Eyre. Chairman, Internet Advertising Bureau. For services to Advertising and the Media.

Roger George Parry. For services to Media and the Arts particularly the Globe Theatre, London.


Gregory John Bensberg. Formerly director, Spectrum Policy, Ofcom. For services to Media and Communications.

Richard Hill. Formerly chairman, Northern Ireland Screen. For services to Broadcast Media in Northern Ireland.

Michael Andrew Murphy. For services to Business and Digital Media.


Mrs Sylvia Jean Auton. Formerly chief executive and chairman, IPC Media. For services to the Publishing Industry.

Michael Acton Smith. Chief executive and Founder, Mind Candy. For services to the Creative Industries.

Mark Vallance Crabtree. Managing director, AMS Neve. For services to Advanced Manufacturing and Creative Industries.

Mrs Jane Elizabeth Humphreys. Head of Spectrum Policy, Department for Culture, Media and Sport. For services to UK Mobile Communications.

Professor Sonia Livingstone. Professor, Department of Media and Communications, London School of Economics. For services to Children and Child Internet Safety.

Ms Amanda Felicity Mackenzie. Chief Marketing and Communications Officer (Worldwide), Aviva. For services to Marketing.

Last updated 14/02/2014

Contact the IPA

ABCe audit Offical Webby Awards Honoree (2011, 2013)

Website, membership and content management software by Senior
Creative design by Igentics

Institute of Practitioners in Advertising (IPA)
© 2018 IPA. All rights reserved. No part of this
site may be reproduced without our permission.