Please be informed that the IPA offices will be closed Friday 4th August.
We will respond to you as soon as we return on Monday 7th August.

Leading clients to judge 2016 Effectiveness Awards

A distinguished panel of industry experts, including representatives from Channel 4, Airbnb and the Cabinet Office, will judge this year’s prestigious IPA Effectiveness Awards. They will be responsible for determining which campaigns should be rewarded for demonstrating their marketing communications payback.


The judging panel will be headed up by Chairman of Judges Dame Dianne Thompson, DBE, alongside Convenor of Judges Bridget Angear, Joint Chief Strategy Officer, AMV BBDO.

Client Judges

  • Jonathan Allan, Sales Director, Channel 4
  • Ed Aspel, Executive Director of Fundraising and Marketing, Cancer Research UK 
  • Jeremy Basset, Head of Unilever Foundry, Unilever    
  • Alexandra Dimiziani, Head of Marketing EMEA, Airbnb  
  • Andrew Geoghegan, Global Head of Consumer Planning, Diageo
  • Jan Gooding, Group Brand Director, Aviva         
  • Wendy Proctor, Deputy Director, Cabinet Office Shared Communications Service, Cabinet Office    
  • Justine Roberts, CEO, Mumsnet
  • Sarah Warby, Marketing Director, Sainsbury's    
  • Georgina Williams, Head of Marketing, Volvo Car UK
  • Richard Woodford, former Global Procurement Director - Media, market research and analytics, GSK

The IPA Effectiveness Awards are also judged by an industry panel*, who are responsible for shortlisting the entries and providing commentaries from a technical perspective for consideration by the client judging panel.

Says Bridget Angear, Convenor of Judges, Joint Chief Strategy Officer, AMV BBDO “One of the key reasons these Awards are the crème de la crème of effectiveness is because of the calibre of the judges, and the time, effort and rigour they put into evaluating every paper. We have a stellar line up this year.”

View the industry judges along with further information on the client judges, Chairman and Convenor here

For the first time, the Best International special prize will be awarded in memorial of Tim Broadbent to honour his contribution to effectiveness over his esteemed career.  Tim is the only person to have won two Grand Prix at the IPA Effectiveness Awards, along with four Golds. His contribution to creating a culture of effectiveness in the UK and Asia, where he acted as a champion for the IPA, was significant. Tim was a strong IPA supporter, serving as a Convenor of Judges in 2000 and Chairman of the Value of Advertising Group. He also edited Advertising Works 11 and was honoured with a Fellowship for his services to the IPA. Read more about Tim Broadbent here. The Best Dedication to Effectiveness prize is awarded in honour of Tim’s father Simon Broadbent who was instrumental to the formation of the Awards. 

More information and the registration page can be found here

Notes for editors


Dame Dianne Thompson, DBE, Former CEO, Camelot 

Convenor of Judges

Bridget Angear, Joint Chief Strategy Officer, AMV BBDO


Neil Godber, Head of Planning, JWT 

*Industry Judging panel

  • Fiona Blades, President & Chief Experience Officer, MESH       
  • Morag Blazey, CEO, Ebiquity     
  • Fran Cassidy, Founder, Cassidy Media Partnership            
  • Neil Dawson, Chief Strategy Officer, Sapient Nitro            
  • Laurence Green, Founding Partner, 101 
  • Steve Hatch, Managing Director, Facebook         
  • Matt Hill, Research & Planning Director, Thinkbox            
  • Alison Hoad, Vice Chairman, RKCR/Y&R 
  • Vanella Jackson, Global CEO, Hall & Partners      
  • Nick Kendall, Founding Partner, Bro-Ken
  • Dr. Paul Marsden, Freelance Consultant - Syzergy / Brand Genetics, Consumer Psychologist
  • Ian Maude - Group Development Director, Be Heard     
  • Andy Nairn, Founding Partner, Lucky Generals    
  • Marie Oldham, Communications Strategist, Fresheyes Consulting              
  • Marco Rimini, CEO, Mindshare  
  • Charlie Snow, Chief Strategy Officer, DLKW Lowe               
  • Richard Storey, Chief Strategy Officer, M&C Saatchi         
  • Denise Turner, Insight Director, Newsworks         
  • Nick Turner, Partner (Marketing & Insight), Deloitte         
  • Caroline Walker, Managing Director, Ipsos Connect
  • David Wilding, Planning Director, Twitter UK 


In addition to the Gold, Silver and Bronze Awards, the following Special Prizes will be awarded:

  • Best Commercial Effectiveness for Good (President’s Prize)
  • Best Dedication to Effectiveness (The Simon Broadbent Prize)
  • Best International (The Tim Broadbent Prize)
  • Best Multi-Market
  • Best New Learning (The Channon Prize)
  • Best Small Budget
  • Effectiveness Company of the Year Prize
  • Effectiveness Network of the Year
  • Grand Prix
Last updated 21/01/2016

Contact the IPA

ABCe audit Offical Webby Awards Honoree (2011, 2013)

Website, membership and content management software by Senior
Creative design by Igentics

Institute of Practitioners in Advertising (IPA)
© 2018 IPA. All rights reserved. No part of this
site may be reproduced without our permission.