Please be informed that the IPA offices will be closed Friday 4th August.
We will respond to you as soon as we return on Monday 7th August.

IPA Presidents

Current president: Sarah Golding

2017 - present

Sarah Golding’s biography

Sarah is Chief Executive Officer and Partner of CHI & Partners, one of the UK’s leading advertising and communications agencies. Prior to that Sarah worked at Lowe Howard-Spink following graduation from Cambridge University. Across her career Sarah has worked with blue chip brands including Orange, Reebok, British Gas, Argos and NewsUK. She sits on the IPA Council, is an active member of WACL and for the last five years has been voted by Campaign magazine as one of the industry's top 10 account people. Sarah is a Non Exec of coffee company Cru Kafe and sits on the Great Ormond Street Christmas Committee. Sarah is married to David Golding, a co-founder of adam&eveddb, and is mother to Florence and step mother to Archie.

The role of the IPA President 

During their two-year tenure, the IPA President sets an agenda as the head of the IPA’s Council to help shape its activities regarding: what agencies do (Creativity, media and effectiveness); how agencies make their money (Commercial); and who they need to do it well (Talent). They operate as the public face of the IPA and represent IPA members to the press and public. They present the views of the industry to interested parties on key issues – as developed with the IPA Council and IPA Director General Paul Bainsfair. They chair Council meetings and any key sub-groups which may derive from it.  

Past presidents

1917 L.O.Johnson

1925 G. Benson

1929 R.J. Sykes

1931 L.G. Jackson

1932 J. Strong

1933 R. Winter Thomas

1934 R.J. Sykes

1937 Sir. William Crawford K.B.E

1940 Norman Moore

1945 C. Harold Vernon

1948 Hugh T. Appleton

1951 Hubert A. Oughton O.B.E

1954 Alan M. Wilkinson D.S.O

1957 Douglas M. Saunders M.C

1959 Sinclair Wood O.B.E

1961 Robert Bevan C.B.E

1962 W.A. Messenger M.C.

1963 Brian F. MacCabe M.C.

1965 John Hobson C.B.E.

1967 Sir John Rogers BT

1969 David Dutton

1971 J.G. Wynne-Williams M.B.E. T.D.

1973 A.A Ross O.B.E.

1975 John Treasure

1977 Rodney Millard

1979 Michael English

1981 Christopher Hawes

1983 Reginald Oliver

1985 Bert D Vos

1987 Alban Lloyd

1989 Winston Fletcher

1991 Peter Mead

1993 Chris Powell

1995 John Bartle

1997 Graham Hinton

1999 Rupert Howell

2001 Bruce Haines

2003 Stephen Woodford

2005 David Pattison

2007 Moray MacLennan

2009 Rory Sutherland

2011 Nicola Mendelsohn

2013 Ian Priest

2015 Tom Knox

Last updated 11/10/2017

Contact the IPA

ABCe audit Offical Webby Awards Honoree (2011, 2013)

Website, membership and content management software by Senior
Creative design by Igentics

Institute of Practitioners in Advertising (IPA)
© 2018 IPA. All rights reserved. No part of this
site may be reproduced without our permission.