Client heavyweights to judge IPA Effectiveness Awards

Leading clients and industry experts, including representatives from Heineken, HSBC, Lufthansa and Just Eat will judge this year’s prestigious IPA Effectiveness Awards. The judges will determine which campaigns have demonstrated the most business value and return on investment from their marketing communications.

This year’s panel will be chaired by ITV CEO Dame Carolyn McCall, who will be joined by Convenor of Judges J. Walter Thompson’s Head of Planning Neil Godber and Deputy Convenor Sue Unerman, Chief Transformation Officer at MediaCom.

Entries to the IPA Effectiveness Awards, the most rigorous competition of their kind worldwide, are first evaluated by a panel of industry and technical specialist judges, who are responsible for shortlisting the entries and providing commentaries from a technical perspective, before final consideration by the client judging panel.

Client Judging Panel

  • Zaid Al-Qassab, Chief Brand & Marketing Officer, BT
  • Helen Carroll, Director of Co-op Brand, The Co-operative Group
  • Steve Coghlan, Marketing Director UK & Ireland, Kimberly-Clark
  • Barnaby Dawe, Global Chief Marketing Officer, Just Eat
  • Mark Evans, Marketing Director, Direct Line Group
  • Margaret Jobling, Group Chief Marketing Officer, Centrica
  • Chris Pitt, UK Head of Marketing, HSBC
  • Alexander Schlaubitz, VP, Marketing, Lufthansa
  • Lisa Thomas, Chief Brand Officer, Virgin
  • Anuraag Trikha, Global Brand Director, Heineken

Industry Judging Panel

  • Lucy Banister, Founder, The Nursery
  • Kate Cox, VP, Chief Marketing Offier, GoDaddy EMEA
  • Nikki Crumpton, Consultant, The Active Strategist
  • Jane Cunningham, Co-founder, PrettyLittleHead
  • Andy Davidson, Chief Strategy Officer, Flamingo Group
  • Andy Davies, Founder Davies+McKerr
  • Russell Davies, Chief Strategic Officer, BETC
  • Dr Carl Driesener, Senior Marketing Scientist, Ehrenberg-Bass Institute
  • Mark Earls, Consultant, HERDmeister
  • Helen Edwards, Founding Partner, Passionbrand
  • Paul Edwards, Non-Executive Director
  • John Griffiths, CEO & Founder, Planning Above and Beyond
  • Caroline Hayter, Owner, Acacia Avenue
  • Lucy Jameson, Founder, Uncommon.London
  • Tom Morton, SVP, US Head of Strategy, R/GA
  • Ray Poynter, Founder, NewMR, The Future Place Consultancy
  • Alex Steer, Chief Product Officer, Wavemaker
  • Mark Stockdale, Strategic Partner, The Effectiveness Partnership
  • Amelia Torode, Founder, Fawnbrake Collective

Technical Judging Panel

  • Alan Bloodworth, CEO EMEA, Gain Theory, Chair of Technical Judges
  • Vasileios Kourakis, Global Director Marketing ROI, L’Oreal
  • Matthew Taylor, Econometrics Program Lead, Google
  • Jon Webb, Managing Partner, Gain Theory

Says Neil Godber, Convenor of Judges and Head of Planning, J. Walter Thompson London: “The IPA Effectiveness Awards are the pinnacle of achievement in demonstrating the commercial power of what you can do with creativity.  A large part of why these awards are so revered and trusted is down to the calibre of the judges for each of the industry, technical and client stages: the best in the business, judging the best work in the business.”

More information about the full judging panel can be found at the IPA Effectiveness Awards hub.

The 2018 Awards’ sponsors are DBS Data, Facebook, Google, Newsworks, Marsh, Radiocentre, System 1 Group, Thinkbox, WARC

Last updated 21 January 2022