IPA President Sarah Golding to reward power of tech-led data with launch of new IPA Effectiveness Award Prize

The 2018 IPA Effectiveness Awards, the industry's most prestigious and rigorous awards scheme, launch with a new President's Prize for best use of tech-led data.

Open to any communications agency, media owner or advertiser worldwide, entries can feature marketing activity involving any product category, country or size of budget which, crucially, must provide concrete evidence to prove that the activity has paid back.

New to the competition for 2018 is Sarah Golding’s President’s Prize which, aligning with her ‘Magic and Machines’ agenda, will reward the most effective demonstration of tech-led data.

Says Sarah: “I firmly believe that technology will soon generate a new era of highly creative and powerfully effective brand building tools that will capture both the public’s imagination and the boardroom’s enthusiasm.

“I’m therefore delighted to announce my new President’s Prize for the most effective demonstration of tech-led data. I’m looking forward to seeing the winner of that. I also cannot wait to see the likes of Virtual Reality and Augmented Reality in the hands of the best storytellers in our industry. We know from the work between the IPA Databank and the Gunn Report the pure power of creativity to deliver results. Better creative equals better effectiveness.”

Says Neil Godber, Convenor of Judges for the 2018 Awards and Head of Planning, J. Walter Thompson London: “In an increasingly rich media environment, with the ticking clock of short-termism and constant pressure on budgets, we will be honoured to see which of your activity – from product innovation to brand experience, from the new to the old, and to all iterations in between - has engaged, cut through and delivered the greatest impact on brands, behaviours and balance sheets.” 

Key competition dates:

  • 17:00 GMT January 31st, 2018: Pre-registration and Awards Advisory Service deadline
  • 12:00 BST April 20th, 2018: Final Deadline for Submitting Awards Entry

Discounts and advice:

Papers pre-registering before the 31st January – are eligible for 15% discount off final entry cost; and can sign up for Awards Advisory Mentoring.

Any IPA member who hasn’t entered the awards in the past is being offered a free Awards Advisory Service to help with their papers.

To kick start your entry, download our entry pack.

To stay informed about the 2018 Awards, sign up to our mailing list here

For any other enquiries, please contact Kay Heenan, awards@ipa.co.uk, 44 (0)207 201 8266.

You can also join the conversation on Twitter at #IPAEff #MagicandtheMachines

All prizes:

In addition to the main Gold, Silver and Bronze Awards, the judges award these special prizes:

  • Best New Learning (The Channon Prize)

Awarded by the Industry panel, this prize rewards the best contribution to new learning in terms of insight, deployment, ideas and/or measurement and evaluation.

  • Best Dedication to Effectiveness (The Simon Broadbent Prize)

The Industry panel will award this prize to the client company that has consistently demonstrated its commitment to effectiveness and evaluation.

  • Best International (The Tim Broadbent Prize)

Awarded to the best paper entered by a non-UK agency.

  • Best Multi-Market

Awarded to the best paper which demonstrates the effects of a campaign in more than one market.

  • Best Small Budget

Awarded to the best paper with a total marketing communications budget under £2.5million.

  • Best Use of Social Media (#IPASocialWorks Prize)

Awarded to the paper that best demonstrates the effective use of social media for marcoms, insight or personalisation where there is proven business value

  • Best Use of Tech-Led Data (President’s Prize)

Awarded to the best paper demonstrating use of technology led data in the generation of the strategy, delivery, execution, optimization or measurement of effect

  • Grand Prix

Awarded to the single best paper from among the Gold-winning awards.

  • Effectiveness Company of the Year Prize

This Prize will go to the organisation that accumulates the largest number of points from at least two papers in any one year of the Effectiveness Awards.

  • Effectiveness Network of the Year

Awarded to the best agency network that has had at least two winning papers.


The 2018 Awards’ sponsors are DBS Data, Facebook, Google, Newsworks, Marsh, Radiocentre, System 1 Group, Thinkbox, Warc


Last updated 21 January 2022