IPA unveils list of adland’s game changers

As part of the run up to the British Festival of Advertising, the IPA is unveiling a list of people who stand out as having had a major influence on the last century.

The list, which is not a top ten or a top 100, has been compiled with the help of an industry panel who were invited to make up an initial long list.

The panel was made up of IPA President Tom Knox, D&AD CEO Tim Lindsay, AMV.BBDO Creative Partner Rosie Arnold, Adam & Eve DDB Founder and CEO James Murphy, Campaign Global Editor Claire Beale,  BARB’s Non Executive Chairman Nigel Sharrocks, Thinkbox CEO Lindsey Clay and IPA Director General Paul Bainsfair.

The final selection has been made by the IPA who have chosen the people whom it believes have been mainly responsible for changing the industry, either as a leader, a creative, a strategist or as an innovator.

Said the IPA’s Paul Bainsfair: “This has been a very difficult task because there have been lists before, and there are people who are still making their mark and who history will want to remember. So what we have tried to do is to recognise the people who have stood out for us as the game changers: the leaders, the creatives who pushed the boundaries of creativity, the first media pioneers and the planners/strategists. And although a number of them are no longer with us, we have been delighted to be able to invite a number of them, or members of their families, to our Opening Ceremony on the 8th March.”

This list will reside on www.adfest100.co.uk and over the course of the year the IPA hopes to capture and publish the memories and thoughts of these remarkable people.

The list is below and their pictures and full biographies that outline why they were selected can be found on the Festival website at: http://adfest100.co.uk/gamechangers/

David Abbott
Paul Arden
John Bartle CBE
Trevor Beattie
Lord Bell
Martin Boase
Tony Brignull
Sir Nigel Bogle
Simon Broadbent
Frank Budgen
Jeremy Bullmore CBE
Ann Burdus CBE
Tim Delaney
James Garrett
Neil Godfrey
Paul Green
Sir John Hegarty
Steve Henry
Chris Ingram
Stephen King
Lord Leverhulme
Sir Frank Lowe
Marion Lyon
Patricia Mann OBE
Peter Marsh
Colin Millward
Ray Morgan
Jane Newman
David Ogilvy CBE
Brian Palmer
Sir Alan Parker CBE
John Pearce
Stanley Pollitt
Lord Puttnam
MT Rainey
Charles Saatchi
Lord Saatchi
John Salmon
Sir Ridley Scott
Jeremy Sinclair CBE
Sir Martin Sorrell
Dave Trott
Alan Waldie
Christine Walker
John Webster
Robin Wight
Mike Yershon

Last updated 21 January 2022