IPA celebrates industry greats in 2024 New Year Honours

Celebrating services to the advertising industry

The IPA is celebrating six industry luminaries for their outstanding service to the advertising industry and the way they have raised the reputation of adland at large.

They will each be bestowed an IPA Fellowship (FIPA) or Honorary Fellowship (Hon. FIPA) at the IPA President’s Reception on Wednesday 17 January.

2024 IPA New Year Honours List:

    Receiving a Fellowship:

    • Charlie Rudd, Group CEO Leo Burnett and Fallon London and Publicis.Poke

    Receiving an Honorary Fellowship (for individuals not with an IPA member agency):

    • Alex Mahon, CEO, Channel4
    • Sebastian Munden, Chair, Ad Net Zero
    • Mark Ritson, Former marketing professor, founder of the Marketing Week Mini MBA
    • Aline Santos, Chief Brand Officer and Chief Equity Diversity & Inclusion Officer, Unilever
    • Ridley Scott, Filmmaker

    The IPA New Year Honours is our opportunity to show our gratitude to those whose achievements have had a remarkable impact on the advertising industry and beyond. Throughout their storied careers, Alex, Aline, Charlie, Mark, Sebastian and, of course, Ridley have all helped to make ours a world-class industry."

    Paul Bainsfair, IPA Director General


    Charlie Rudd, Group CEO Leo Burnett and Fallon London and Publicis.Poke

    Charlie Rudd – dubbed by Campaign recently as “the man who makes you want to buy” has spent his whole career in agencies, having started at Ogilvy as a graduate trainee in 1989.

    A stint at Simons Palmer Denton Clemmow Johnson in the 1990s was followed by a 17-year stretch at BBH, where he started as a business director and worked his way up to managing director. In 2016 he re-joined Ogilvy as CEO, and in 2017 the agency (for the first time in its history) was shortlisted for the Campaign Agency of the Year award.

    Charlie joined Leo Burnett as CEO in 2019 and in 2023 he was promoted to Group CEO with additional responsibility for Fallon London and Publicis.Poke. Leo Burnett won Campaign’s Agency of the Year for the first time in March 2023.

    He was previously a member of the IPA Council.

    Honorary FIPA

    Alex Mahon, CEO, Channel4

    Mahon’s skills in TV span several high-profile roles in the likes of Shine Group owned by 21st Century Fox, and then CEO of the visual effects software company Foundry.

    In 2005 Management Today included Mahon in their top 35 women under 35 in the business world in 2005. Alex Mahon was appointed CEO of Channel 4 in 2017. The first woman in the role.

    Central to C4’s role over the past 40 years is the continued development of the UK’s independent production sector, which is worth £3 billion. Under Alex’s leadership, Channel 4 has transformed into a digital-first public media company with the UK’s biggest free streaming service and one of the largest social media brands for young people in the UK.

    The symbiotic relationship of public service broadcaster (PSB) and independent production ecosystem is underpinned by advertising, and Channel 4, led by Mahon is a hugely successful advertising business delivering a large and unique audience profile through its PSB remit.

    Seb Munden, Chair, Ad Net Zero

    Chief exec of Unilever UK and Ireland until 2022, Munden was responsible for the acceleration of the transformation of its packaging portfolio to reduce waste and carbon footprints. He also championed collaboration between companies from different sectors to advance a similar transformation across the industry.

    He is now Chair of environmental action NGO WRAP (The Waste and Resources Action Programme), which partners businesses and governments globally, promoting the circular economy, and tackling the causes of climate change, waste, and pollution in food, consumer products and textile systems.

    Seb is Chair of Ad Net Zero, an industry initiative created by AA, IPA and ISBA to deliver net zero ways of working in advertising and utilise the superpower of this industry to promote more sustainable behaviours, products, and services.

    Mark Ritson, Former marketing professor, founder of the Marketing Week Mini MBA

    Mark has a PhD in Marketing and has taught on the MBA programmes at leading business schools like London Business School and MIT. His consulting career saw him work for many of the world's biggest brands. He also been a marketing columnist for more than 20 years winning the PPA's Columnist of the Year trophy five times and three times by the British Society of Magazine Editors. Mark advocated the need for brands and agencies to improve their brief writing and co-authored a best practice guide; The best way for clients to brief an agency, in partnership with the IPA and Better Briefs. The publication, available free, is one of the most downloaded publications on the IPA website.

    Aline Santos, Chief Brand Officer and Chief Equity Diversity & Inclusion Officer, Unilever

    Known to be one of the UK’s top marketing leaders and a great champion for representation and inclusion in our industry. In Campaign Power 100 2023.

    Along with the IPA, Santos is a founding member of the Unstereotype Alliance convened by UN Women, the global movement aimed at eradicating harmful stereotypes in advertising.

    A true ED&I champion; Aline sponsored the IPA iList in its inaugural year and hosted a round table celebrating inclusive and inspiring leaders.

    Ridley Scott, Filmmaker

    An alumnus of the Royal College of Art in London, Scott began his career in television as a designer and director before moving into advertising as a director of commercials.

    With a staggering 2000+ ads under his belt, Scott perfected the art of storytelling (a precursor to his prolific film career.) with his attention to visual stylisation including distinctive atmospheric lighting effects creating a new era of modern advertising and modern communications.

    Fifty years from when the advert aired, (1973) the Ridley Scott and Hovis collaboration remains an institution, more memorable than any other advert in British history.

    Alex, Aline, Charlie, Mark, Ridley and Sebastian join 22 other industry stalwarts to be honoured in the IPA New Year Honours since 2019. The previous honourees are Rosie Arnold, Jenny Biggam, Karen Blackett OBE, Helen Calcraft, Damian Collins MP, Patrick Collister, Tony Cullingham, Magnus Djaba, Mel Edwards, Jan Gooding, Sarah Golding, Sir John Hegarty, Johnny Hornby, Pip Hulbert, Carl Johnson, Annette King, Vicki Maguire, Patrick Mills, James Murphy, Mark Read, Nishma Patel Robb, Trevor Robinson OBE, Jeremy Sinclair CBE, Dame Cilla Snowball, Philip Thomas, Charles Vallance, Nigel Vaz and Michael Wall.

    In addition to the New Year Honours List for services to the advertising industry, the IPA will honour exceptional individuals for their services to the IPA in its annual Summer Honours List later this year.

    Last updated 01 May 2024